top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaren Lubben

How I Became The Reading Retriever

Updated: Mar 23, 2020


My job is super important and here is my journey to getting that job. My human mom had been telling me for a while that she wanted to bring me to school with her. She is a reading teacher and she thought I would be a great listener to the kids she works with. It sounded fun to me. I get to be with my mom and the little humans that I love so much.


Finally my mom's principal agreed that I could come to school with her, BUT first we had to take special classes. In November I met with some ladies from a place called Shadowlee Canine. They wanted to meet me and see how smart I am. The meeting was pretty quick and they could tell that I knew how to behave and that I would make a great reading retriever.


My mom and I had to go to special classes for 10 weeks. The classes were really for my mom. I already knew the things they were asking me to do. It was still fun to go in the car and be with my mom so much. Plus I got lots of yummy treats. My mom needed to learn how to protect me and how to read my body language so she would know if I was stressed. After we finished the classes, I had to take a test. I passed it with flying colors! I was ready to work. I got a special vest so that I can go anywhere with my mom. That's the best because I think I should go everywhere. I'm pretty sure all humans want to see me.





21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page