top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaren Lubben

A VERY Ruff Day

The date is February 24, 2020. It's my usual routine of going to work today except NOTHING is routine about today. I mentioned in my previous post how I went to school on a day that was not my usual day and how everyone was worried and upset. Today as we drove to school my mom talked to me again all the way there. She said that I would have a very important role today as the humans were going to be super sad today and really needed me. The reason for my mom and everyone else's sadness was that a very special friend of Springton Manor had died. Her name was Deb Flint and she was our school nurse. She was a friend to everyone there, including me. As a dog, I don't really understand death. I watched a movie with my mom recently called THE ART OF RACING IN THE RAIN. In that movie the dog dies and comes back as a human. If that's true, I'm pretty sure my mom was a dog in another life but even I know that it was a movie and not real life. Real life is harder.


I was determined to do my best to help everyone today! My mom had her hands full and since we got to work early, she did not put my leash on when we got out of the car. I saw Mrs. Trimble in the parking lot and ran to greet her. She was very happy to see me. So the 3 of us walked into the school together. Once I got in the office I went running....I heard people in the conference room next to Mr. Pron's office so I ran in there so I could make those people happy too! My mom called me and I ran back to her. We went in the copy room next and there were lots of big humans in there and they all wanted to say hello to me so I made my rounds. I know my mom was distracted with everything going on so I took advantage of the situation and when the copy room door opened I made a run for it!!!


There I was in the wide open hallway. No little humans there yet but I had big humans calling me from every direction. I didn't know which way to go first so I ran into the first classroom because I love it and the teacher, Mrs. Peterson really likes me to say hi to her. Then I ran out of there and down the hall to another classroom. There were 3 big humans that I knew and they grabbed me to say hello. Mr. Pron came by and I thought he was going to be really proud of how I was cheering up everyone but he saw my mom coming down after me and told her I needed my leash on. My mom got me and took me into our room. It was fun for a few minutes to be running free in school saying hello to anyone I wanted. That's what I dream about. Once my leash is on, no more goofing around. I must work.


Our room is filled with people I have never met before. There are big humans from all different schools here. My mom explains they are counselors also here to help all Springton Manor humans deal with our sadness. They all love me and I walk around to get attention from all of them. I do see lots of little humans and big humans today. Some are really sad and crying so I just lay my head on their laps and let them pet me and talk to me. It seems to help. Some little humans still come in to read to me which is great. I see my few special friends that come every week and I see lots of big humans who need a snuggle and some love.

IN LOVING MEMORY OF MRS. FLINT.

From the musical Wicked: "Because I knew you, I have been changed for good."

36 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page