top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaren Lubben

Second time at school...


It is February 3, 2020 and I am ready to go. As soon as Mom grabs her coat, I know it's time to get in the car. Did I mention how much I love the car? I am excited to go anywhere but I know I am going to work today and I can't wait. I didn't see too many little humans last week. I met a lot of big humans and they were really nice to me. They seem really happy that I am at school. Can't wait to meet more friends today!









This is one of the other shirts my Mom had made for me to wear to school. For privacy reasons I can't show pictures of the kids who visited me or use their names but I saw lots of kids today. These two came to read to me and they gave me lots of pets. I love when they ask my Mom lots of questions about me. They are always surprised to hear that I am only 5. They are usually older than me but I weigh more than they do! I sat and listened to these friends read and I loved the stories they picked out.


I also had 2 very special visitors today. They came separately but they were both scared. The first little human watched me through the window for awhile and she came in with a big human that I love. Her name is Mrs. Merrill and she watches me sometimes when my mom has to go out of the office without me. This little human finally came in to visit and I could sense her fear so I stayed real still and let her look at me and talk to my mom. She kept looking at my mouth and asked my mom a lot of questions about me. She asked if I had ever bitten anyone. Of course I wouldn't bite a human. They don't taste very good, not as good as peanut butter. Sadly, this little human was bitten by a dog not long ago and so she is afraid that I would bite her too. I wanted to show her she could trust me and that I would never hurt her. She stayed and talked to me and asked questions and watched my mouth. After a little time she reached out and pet me. I was so happy that she trusted me but I didn't want to scare her so I just stayed very still and let her pet me. These are the times I wish I could talk. I would apologize that one of my species hurt her. I would tell her I would never hurt her and that most dogs never bite humans. Mostly I would love to kiss her scar and heal her heart but I can only remain still and let her pet me and hopefully she can sense all that I am feeling. Later that day another little human came down and she had all the same fear. This little human didn't get bitten but saw what happened to the other little human. She was slow to come in and see me but eventually she did and she pet me too. My mom and Mrs. Merrill were very pleased with me. I didn't do anything except be me and I guess that's pretty important.










47 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page